Welcome to our selection of vegan rosé wine. We stock a variety of rosé wines, including ones made from the following grapes:
Making rosé wine
Rosé wine is made in exactly the same way as red wine. The only difference is rosé wine has less contact time with the grape skins, which consequently results in a paler colour. In summary, rosé wine is made as follows:
- Pick the grapes (by hand or machine).
- Crush the grapes.
- Leave the crushed grapes to ferment (skin on). This fermentation stage is very brief, typically only 12-36 hours.
- Collect the liquid (free run wine) from the fermentation tanks and press the skins to extract more flavour and tannins (press wine). The winemaker can choose to blend the free run wine and press wine at this stage, after ageing or not at all depending on their preference.
- Age the wine in suitable vessels (tanks, oak barrels, concrete eggs etc).
- Stabilise the wine (filtration and/or finings).
- Bottle the wine.
It is the stabilising wine stage (fining specifically) that determines if the wine is vegan or not. Some wines are not filtered or fined, in which case they will be vegan. If a wine is fined, then as long as non-animal derived finings are used (for example, clay, pea protein or charcoal), you will have a vegan rosé wine. You can read more about this in Vegan Wine.
The decision to fine or not is up to the winemaker and may even vary year by year depending on the quality of grapes. Often high quality wines and wines made in small batches are less likely to use any fining agents, instead allowing gravity to naturally settle the sediments to the bottom of the tanks before removing the clear wine (racking).
Browse our selection of vegan rosé wines below:
Showing all 8 results