5 ways to avoid slipping up with alcohol during Veganuary!

Did you know that not all alcohol is vegan? If your answer is no, then you’re not alone. Obviously you may be taking part in Dry January at the same time as Veganuary; in which case you don’t need to worry but if not (or if you’re curious), this blog contains some useful info that may prove invaluable. If you want to read more about why wine isn’t always vegan, then you can read more here.

1. Remember Barnivore

Barnivore is a saviour to vegans all around the world. It has a slight American bias but it’s well worth a look for checking some of the bigger brands. Bear in mind that Barnivore is run by volunteers and although the list is long, it does not list everything. Just because something isn’t listed, doesn’t necessarily mean it’s not vegan. The safest way to be sure is to contact the manufacturer.

2. Spirits and Liqueurs are your friends!

Fining agents are what makes a lot of ciders, beers and wines not vegan. On the whole, this is not a consideration in the production of spirits and most liqueurs, so usually, unless the spirit or liquor is wine based, cream based or has honey in the name, then it will most likely be vegan.

3. Look for the words unfiltered or unfined

The thing that makes a lot of wine not vegan is the filtering process. Therefore, if a wine is unfiltered or unfined, it will be vegan. The same applies to beer and cider. We tend to find a lot of the smaller breweries don’t use any fining agents, as this saves them money.

4. Know your common brands of vegan alcohol

Knowing the main brands, and which are vegan or not will make your life a lot easier, particularly in pubs. For beers, the main brands that are vegan are Becks, Budweiser, Carlsberg, Grolsch, Heineken, Stella, San Miguel, Peroni, Guinness and Samuel Smiths. For ciders, the main brands are Aspall, Stowford Press and Thatchers Gold.

5. Supermarket own brands are generally better labelled

Supermarket own brand wines tend to be well labelled as to whether they are vegan or not. Generally you can assume that if it is a supermarket’s own wine and it doesn’t say vegan on the back, then it isn’t safe to drink. Obviously this can limit your choice quite a lot. So for a wider choice, you can also use specialist websites like ours who only sell vegan wine.

I hope this simple guide has helped. If you’re looking to buy some wine, then check out our mixed cases as a quick way to buy a case of wine or why not sign up to a subscription box to enjoy new wines each month.